THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE OF SCIENCE AND MINISTRY TECHNOLOGY AND IN THE DEPART-MENTS OF OCEAN DEVELOPMENT ATOMIC ENERGY, ELECTRONICS AND SPACE (SHRI SHIVRAJ V. PATIL): (a) Radioactive uranium bearing minerals have been noticed during the geological exploration and surveys in some rocks in the Legship - Mamring - Gompa-Keozing-Tarku tract in West and South Sikkim district and in Rongoli-Rhenock area of East Sikkim, district. Heavy water as such is not found in natural conditions.

(b) Based on geological favourability factors, the radioactive anomalies located in Sikkim have been given a lower priority and surveys have therefore been shifted to other high priority investigations elsewhere in India.

Setting up of Indian Council of Forestry Research

2420. DR. G.S. RAJHANS: Will the PRIME MINISTER be pleased to state:

- (a) whether there is a proposal under the consideration of Government to set up an Indian Counicil of Forestry Research in the country:
- (b) if so, full details in this regard; and (c) the purpose behind setting up of such
- council?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF ENVIRONMENT AND FORESTS (SHRI Z.R. ANSARI): (a) to (c) The Government are considering proposals for reorganisation of forestry research in the country which inter-alia include the setting up of an Indian Council of Forestry Research. The details are being worked out.

[Translation]

Action under water (Prevention and Control of Pollution) Act

2421. SHRI MOOL CHAND DAGA: Will the PRIME MINISTER be pleased to state :

- (a) the number of persons in Union Territories against whom action has been taken under the Water (Prevention and Control of Pollution) Act during the last three years to date:
- (b) the number of persons punished so far; and
- (c) the number of persons acquitted by the court and the number of cases still pending in the courts in this connection?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF ENVIRONMENT AND FORESTS (SHRI Z. R. ANSARI): (a) Action has been taken against forty industries.

- (b) There has been no conviction in respect of the cases instituted so far. However, direction has been issued by the courts in respect of thirty industries to set up the treatment plant within a time limit prescribed by the court.
- (c) There has been no acquittal by the court so far. Ten cases are pending in the court.

[English]

Meeting of National Integration Council

- 2422. SYED SHAHABUDDIN: Will the minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:
- (a) the present composition and term of the National Integration Council:
- (b) the dates on which it has met during its current term
- (c) the progress of the follow-up on its recommendations; and
 - (d) the likely date of its next meeting?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE **DEPARTMENT** OF INTERNAL SECURITY (SHRI ARUN NEHRU): (a) to (d) The present N. I. C. was re-constituted on 19.2.86. The list of its members is given below in the Statement. It is a continuing body and does not have any fixed The date of its first meeting has not been fixed yet.

Statement

List of Members of National Integration Council (1986)

	Prime Minister — C	hairman
^I . Union	1. The Union Home Minister —	Member
Ministers and	2. The Union Finance Minister	-do-
Chief Ministers.	3. The Union Minister for Human Resource Development.	-do-
	4. Chief Ministers of all the State and Union Territories which have Legislatures.	-do-
II. Leaders of national parties	1. Sh. Kamalapati Tripathi, Working President, Indian National Congress (I)	-do-
recognised by the Election	2. Sh. E.M.S. Namboodiripad, General Secretary, Communist Party of India (Marxist).	-do-
Commission.	3. Sh. C. Rajeswara Rao, General Secretary Communist Party of India.	-do-
	4. Sh. Chandra Shekhar, President Janta Party.	-do-
	5. Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Presiden, Bhartiya Janta Party.	-do-
	6. Sh. Sharad Pawar, President, Indian National Congress (S).	-do-
	7. Sh. Charan Singh, President, Lok Dal.	-do-
III. Leaders of regional	1. Sh. M.G. Ramachandran, President All India Anna Di	MKdo-
parties recognised	2. Sh. M. Karunaanidhi, President, DMK.	-do-
by the Election Commission and	3. Sh. B. V. Abdulla Koya, General Secretary, All India Muslim League.	-do-
having at least one representative in	4. Sh. Chitta Basu, General Secretary, All India Forward Block.	•do•
either House of	5. Sh. Jagjivan Ram, President, Indian National Congress	(J) -do-
Parliament.	 Dr. Farooq Abdullah, President, J and K National Conference (F). 	-do-
	 Sh. Biruchon Doley, President, Plains Tribals Council of Assam. 	-do-
	8. Sh. O. Lukose, Chairman, Kerala Congress.	-do-
	9. Sh. Eapen Varghese, Chairman, Kerala Congress (J).	-do-
	 Sh. Tridib Chaudhari, General Secretary Revolutionar Socialist party— 	y -do-

67 Written Answers	MARCH 12, 1986 Written Answe	era 68
	11. Sh. S. S. Barnala, President, Shiromani Akali Dal.	-do-
	12. Sh. Nar Bahadur Singh Bhandari, President, Sikkim Sangram Parishad.	-do-
	13. Sh. N. T. Ramarao, President, Telgu Desam.	-do-
	14. Sh. D. S. Patil, General Secretary, Peasants and Workers Party of India.	-do-
	15. Sh. P. K. Mohanta, President-in-Chief, Assam Gana Parishad.	-do-
	16. Sh. Maulana Abdul Haque, Working President. United Minorities Front.	i -do-
IV. Eminent Public	1. Shri G. Parthasarathy	-do-
figures.	2. Shri Frank Anthony	-do-
	3. Shri P. N. Haksar	-do-
	4. Shri Satyajit Ray	-do-
	5. Shri M. F. Hussain	-do-
	6. Shri S. Banegal	-do-
	7. Shri Khushwant Singh	-do-
	8. Baba Amte	
V. Business	1. Chairman, FICCI	-do-
	2. Chairman, ASSOCHAM	-do- 🤫
¹ VI. Labour	1. Shri Ramanujar, President, INTI C	-do-
VII. Commission	1. Chairman, Minorities Commission	-do-
`	2. Chairman, UGC	-do-
	3. Chairman, Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes Commission.	-do-
VIII, Media	1. Shri Prem Bhatia, Editor, Tribune	-do-
	2. Shri Vijay Tendulkar (Playwright)	-do
	3. Shri Narendra Mohan, Editor, Dainik Jagran.	-do-
	4. Shri Nikhil Chakravarty, Editor, Mainstream	-do-
	5. Shri K. L. Nandan, Editor. Dinaman.	-do-