Alumina Plant

1814. DR. KRUPASINDHU BHOI : Will the Minister of MINES be pleased to state :

(a) whether the Government propose to set up an Alumina Plant in Orissa during 1996-97:

(b) if so, the details thereof; location-wise;

(c) whether any company has shown its interest in this regard: and

(d) if so, the details thereof?

THE MINISTER OF STEEL AND MINISTER OF MINES (SHRI BIRENDRA PRASAD BAISHYA) : (a) The Government does not have any proposal to set up any . new Public Sector Alumina Plant.

(b) Does not arise.

(c) and (d). The Government have granted permission to M/s Indian Aluminium Company Ltd. and M/s Larsen & Toubro Limited to set up 1 Million Tonnes per year each 100% Export Oriented Alumina producing Units in the State of Orissa.

Conversion of LPT

1815 DR. ARUN KUMAR SARMA : SHRI RAMESH CHENNITHALA

Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state

(a) whether the Government have received complaints that some Low Power Transmitters are not working satisfactorily:

(b) if so, the details thereof, state-wise:

(c) the steps taken by the Government in this regard;

(d) whether the Government propose to convert some Low Power Transmitters into High Power Transmitters: and

(e) if so, the details thereof. State-wise, and location-wise?

THE MINISTER OF CIVIL AVIATION AND MINISTER OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING (SHRI C.M IBRAHIM) (a) to (c). While the overall performance of the Low Power Transmitters in the country is reported to be satisfactory, the complaints of malfunctioning of the Low Power Transmitters on account of break-down in power and failure of some components, whenever received are promptly attended to and defects duly rectified.

(d) and (e). Details are enclosed as statement.

STATEMENT

List Showing Locations of Existing Low Power Transmitters State-Wise Which are Under Implementation/Envisaged to be Replaced by High Power Transmitters.

State/Union Territory	Location
1	2
Andhra Pradesh	Ongole Kurnool Rajamundry Warangal yderabad (DD II)
Assam	Tezpur Jorhat Kokrajhar/Bongaigaon
Bihar	Motihari Jameshedpur Deoghar
Haryana	Hissar
Gujarat	Bhuj (permanent set up 300 M tower) Surat Vadodra Junagarh Palitana
Himachal Pradesh	Dharamshala
Jammu & Kashmir	Kathua
Karnataka	Gulbarga (augmentation) Bangalore (DD II) Mangalore Mysore Raichur Hassan
Kerala	Calicut (augmentation) Cannanore
Madhya Pradesh	Ambikapur Guna Shahodol Sagar
Maharashtra	Chandrapur Jalgaon Brhampuri
Orissa	Baleshwar Berhampur Sambalpur (augmentation)
Punjab	Fazilka
Rajasthan	Ajmer Anupgarh Barmer