## [Translation]

## Industrialisation of Backward Areas

1303. SHRI HARSH VARDHAN: Will the Minister of INDUSTRY be pleased to state:

(a) the names of "No Industry Districts" in various States;

(b) the present policy of Government with regard to industrial development of backward areas; and

(c) the incentives provided by Government for their industrialisation?

THE MINISTER OF INDUSTRY (SHRI AJIT SINGH): (a) A statement giving the names of 93 'No Industry Districts' is given below.

(b) and (c). The industrialisation of a State is primarily the responsibility of the State Government concerned. However, in order to promote industrialisation and reduce regional imbalances, the Central Government offers a number of incentives such as priority in the grant of industrial licences, concessional finance, exemption from income-tax etc. to entrepreneurs setting up units in centrally declared backward areas.

Apart from this, Transport Subsidy is also available (upto 31.3.1990) to the States of North Eastern Region, Sikkim, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep Island, Hill areas of U.P., Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir and Darjeeling District of West Bengal. In addition, assistance is given to sanctioned growth centres set-up under the No Industry District Infrastructural Development Scheme which are under various stages of implementation. Growth Centres are also proposed to be establishment during the 8th Plan period under the new Growth Centre Scheme.

## STATEMENT

No Industry District

- 1. Assam
  - 1. Lakhimpur
  - 2. North Cachar Hills
- 2. Bihar
  - 1. Aurangabad
  - 2. Bhojpur
  - 3. Khagaria
  - 4. Nalanda
  - 5. Purnea
  - 6. Saharsa (Including newly carved out district of Madhepur)
- 3. Gujarat
  - 1. Dangs
- 4. Himachal Pradesh
  - 1. Chamba
  - 2. Kangra
  - 3. Kinnaur
  - 4. Kulu
  - 5. Lahaul and Spiti
- 5. Jammu & Kashmir
  - 1. Doda
  - 2. Kupwara
  - 3. Ladakh

PHALGUNA 29, 1911 (SAKA) Written Answers 262

- Poonch 4.
- 5. Pulwama
- Rajauri 6.
- 7. Udhampur
- 6. Kamataka
  - 1. Bidar
- 7. Kerala
  - 1. Wynad
  - 2. Idukki
- 8. Maharashtra
  - 1. Gadchiroli
- 9. Madhya Pradesh
  - 1. Balaghat
  - Bhind 2.
  - 3. Chhatarpur
  - 4. Chhindwara
  - 5. Damoh
  - 6. Datia
  - 7. Dhar
  - 8. Guna
  - 9. Jhabua
  - 10. Mandla
  - 11. Narsinhapur
  - 12. Panna

- 13. Rajgarh
- 14. Seoni
- 15. Shivpuri
- 16. Sidhi
- 17. Surguja
- 18. Tikamgarh
- 10. Manipur
  - 1. Manipur (Central)
  - 2. Manipur (East)
  - 3. Manipur (North)
  - 4. Manipur (South)
  - 5. Manipur (West)
  - 6. Tangnoupal
- 11. Meghalaya
  - 1. East Garo Hills
  - 2. West Garo Hills
  - 3. Jaintia Hills
  - 4. West Khasi Hills
- 12. Nagaland
  - 1. Tuensang
- 13. Orissa
  - 1. **Balasore**
  - 2. Bolangir
  - **Boudh Khondmals** 3. (Phulbani)

263	Written Answers	MARCH 20, 1990	Written Answers 264
14.	Rajasthan	10.	Uttar Kashi
	1. Jaisalmer	11.	Kanpur Dehat
	2. Sirohi	18. We	ost Bengal
	3. Barmer	1.	Bankura
	4. Churu	2.	Cooch Bihar
15.	Sikkim	3.	Darjeeling
	1. Gangtok	4.	Jalpaiguri
	2. Gyalshing	5.	Malda
	3. Mangan	19. An	daman & Nicobar Islands
	4. Namchi	1.	Nicobar Islands
16.	Tripura	20. Arı	unachal Pradesh
	1. North Tripura	1.	Kameng (East and West)
	2. South Tripura	2.	Siang (East and West)
	3. West Tripura	3.	Subansiri (Lower and Upper)
17.	Uttar Pradesh	4.	Tirap
	1. Banda	21. <i>La</i> i	kshadweep
	2. Chamoli	1.	Lakshadweep
	3. Fatehpur	22. Miz	zoram
	4. Hamirpur	1.	Aizwal
	5. Jalaun	2.	Lunglez
	6. Pauri Garhwal	23. <i>D</i> a	dra & Nagar Haveli
	7. Jaunpur		-
	าากเม		Dadra & Nagar Haveli
	9 Tehri Garhwal	Total num	ber of 'No Industry Districts'93