cost is borne by the State Governments. No funds were released to the Government of Bihar in 1987-88 but for 1988-89 a sum of Rs. 27,57,375/- has been sanctioned for purchase of 430 Colour TV sets as the Central Government share (75% of Rs.8550/- per Colour TV set which is the rate fixed under the Scheme).

[English]

Sitting up of A committee to examine the recommendations of the Guiral Committee

1088 SHRI G.N.BANATWALLA: SHRI A ASOKARAJ:

Will the PRIME MINISTER be pleased to state:

- (a) whether government have constituted any Committee to examine the recommendations of the Gujral Committee Report on the protection of Urdu:
- (b) if so, the details of its terms of reference;

- (c) the composition of the Committee; and
- (d) the time by which the Committee had been asked to submit its report?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOL-OGY AND MINISTER OF STATE IN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION IN THE MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (PROF. M.G.K. MENON): (a) to (d). Yes, Sir. The Government have constituted a Committee to examine implementation of the recommendations of Gujral Committee for promotion of Urdu.

The terms of reference of the committee are as follows:

- (i) To examine the recommendations of the Gujral Committee and to assess the present status of their implementation; and
- (ii) Keeping in view (i) above, to advise regarding implementation of the Gujral Committee Recommendations.

The composition of the committee is as follows:

1 Chairman Shri Ali Sardar Jafri, Bombay 2. Shri Rai Bahadur Goud Member Vice-President, Anjuman Tarragi-e-Urdu, Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh. 3. Prof. Shakil-Ul-Rahman Member Member of Parliament formerly Vice-Chancellor of Muzaffarpur Universitty as well as of Mithila University, Bihar 4. Prof. Qamar Rais Member Head of Department of Urdu Delhi University. 5. Dr. Mohd, Hassan Member Retired Chairman of the School

of Languages, Jawaharlal Nehru Univeristy President of All India Urdu Teacher's Association.(Has declined to accept member-ship)

 Kunwar Mohinder Singh Bedi Formerly, Vice-Chairman of Tarraqi-e-Urdu Board. Member

7. Prof. Gopi Chand Narang Professor of Urdu, Delhi University.

Member

Shri Anand Sarup formerly Education Secretary Government of India

Member

Shri Kashmiri Lal Zakir
 Novelist-Writer, Secretary,
 Haryana Urdy Academy, Chandigarh.

Member

Ms. Amrita Pritam,
 Member of Parliament, New Delhi.

Member

Dr. Mumtaz Ahmed
 President, Al Ameen Education
 Society, Bangalore.

Member

 Shri Ram Lal Member, U.P.Urdu Academy Lucknow. Member

Professor Namwar Singh
 Jawaharlal Nehru University,
 New Delhi.

Member

Shri Khalique Anjum
 New Delhi.

Member

Shri K.K.Khullar,
 Consultant and former Director
 (Languages), Department of Education,
 Ministry of Human Resource Development

Member-Secretary

The Committee is required to submit its report within a period of 3 months from the date of tis first meeting.