THE MINISTER OF COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI BENI PRASAD VARMA) : (a) Majority of faults are cleared within prescribed norms, although sometimes there is some delay in fault rectification due to long spans of dropwire, cable faults, subscriber reasons etc. No faults are, however, allowed to continue for months together.

(b) and (c) Question does not arise in view of (a) above.

(d) As per departmental rule, rent rebate is allowed to the subscriber whose telephone remains out of order continueously for 7 days or more. This rule is followed in all areas of MTNL, Delhi.

(e) Question does not arise in view of (d) above.

New Telephone Exchanges in Bihar

1352. SHRI BRAJ MOHAN RAM : Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state :

(a) whether any decision for setting up of telephone exchanges in Bihar was taken in the last year as per information given in the annual report of the Ministry;

(b) if so, the details thereof;

(c) the number of telephone exchanges set up in Bihar so far; and

(d) the number of telephone exchanges likely to be set up during 1997-98 alongwith locations thereof?

THE MINISTER OF COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI BENI PRASAD VARMA) : (a) and (b) There is no mention of targets for setting up of new exchanges in the last year's annual report. However, there was a plan to set up new telephone exchanges where registered demand was 10 or more in Bihar.

(c) The number of telephone exchanges set up in Bihar during 1996-97 is 35.

(d) The number of telephone exchanges likely to be set up during 1997-98 alongwith their locations is given in the statement enclosed.

Statement

New Telephone Exchanges likely to be set up during 1997-98

S. No.	Name of Telecom Distt.	Location	
1	2	3	11-11-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-
1.	Patna	Sampat Chak Dhanaura	******
2.	Ranchi	Bano Chainpur Jaldega Basia Blelwa Kurdeg	

1	2	3	
3.	Arrah	Narhi Chandi Tarari Pratapsagar Krishnasagar	
4.	Bhagalpur	Bhikhanpur Kalajore Chandan	
5.	Chhapra	Derni Maker Inshwapur	
6.	Darbhanga	Alinagar Ghanshyampur Ladania Garhpura Bithan Khodabanpur	
.7.	Gaya	Kawacol BakeyBazau Roh Orhanpar Gurua	
8.	Jamshedpur	Mango Kadma Hatgamaria Raj Nagar	
9.	Katihar	Saidpur Rauta (Baisi)	
10.	Munger	Rampur	
11.	Sasaram	Satwarwa	
12.	Hazaribagh	Sayal Hunterganj	
13.	Dumka	Fatehpur Mohanpur	
14.	Muzaffarpur	Musahari Benibad Basdeopur Chandel Mazorganj (Mubarakpur) Sarfuddinpur	

[English]

Non-Functioning of Office of Doordarshan and AIR at Guwahati

1353. DR. ARUN KUMAR SARMA : Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state :

(a) whether a seperate zonal office of the Engineering Wing of D.D. and AIR network for North East Region was created and established at Guwahati in December, 1995 after bifurcating the combined zonal office Calcutta;