Abolition of Octroi

4723. SHRI R. SURENDER REDDY: Will the Minister of SURFACE TRANS-PORT be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Chief Ministers' Committee constituted to look into the transporters proposal for abolition of Octroi, has recently submitted their recommendations to the Union Government and the Government have studied the ramifications of these recommendations:
 - (b) if so, the details thereof; and
- (c) the action proposed to be taken in this regard?

THE MINISTER OF STATE OF THE MINISTRY OF SURFACE TRANS-PORT (SHRI JAGDISH TYTLER): (a) No, Sir.

(b) and (c) Do not arise.

[Translation]

Post Offices in Maharashtra

4724. SHRI DATTA MEGHE: SHRI RAM KAPSE: SHRI MANIKRAO HODLYA GAVIT:

Will the Minister of COMMUNICA-TIONS be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of new post offices sanctioned and opened during 1993-94 in Maharashtra, district-wise; and
- (b) the number of post-offices proposed to be opened in the State during 1994-95?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF POWER (SHRI P.V. RANGAYYA NAIDU): (a) The number of new post offices sanctioned and opened during 1993-94 in Maharashtra, districtwise is given in the attached Statement.

(b) State-wise target for opening of post offices during 1994-95 has not yet been finalised.

STATEMENT

Details of the number of post offices sanctioned and openend during 1993-94 in Maharashtra, district-wise

S. No.	Name of District	Sanctioned		Opened	
		Branch Post Offices	Depart- mental Sub Offices	Branch Post Offices	Depart- mental Sub Offices
1.	Ahmednagar	6	1	6	_
2.	Akola	1	-	1	_
3.	Amravati	3		3	_

APRI	1 25	1994
~ I II		1337

Written Answers 532

S. No.	Name of District	Sanctioned		Opened	
		Branch Post Offices	Depart- mental Sub Offices	Branch Post Offices	Depart- mental Sub Offices
4.	Buldana	1	_	1	
5.	Bhandara	1		1	_
6.	Beed	1	-	1	-
7 .	Chandrapur	1	_	1	
8.	Dhule	. 7		7	_
9.	Gadchiroli	7	-	5	
10.	Jalna	1	-	1	
11.	Jalgaon .	1	_	1	_
12.	Kolhapur	1	_	1	1
13.	Nagpur	1	1	1	_
14.	Nanded	_	1	_	· -
15.	Nasik	5	-	5	_
16.	Osmanabad	1	_	1	-
17.	Pune	9	14	9	7
18.	Raigad	4	-	4	_
19.	Ratnagiri	2	-	2	_
20.	Solapur	2	1	2	1
21.	Satara	8	-	8	_
22 .	Sangli	1	-	1	
23.	Thana	9	_	9	-
24.	Yeotmal	3	_	3	-
	Total	76	19	74	9