Regional Offices of Banks in Orissa

2895. SHRI BHAJAMAN BEHRA: SHRI ANADI CHARAN DAS:

Will the Minister of FINANCE be pleased to state:

(a) the names of the nationalised banks and number of branches each of them are having in Orissa;

(b) the names of such banks which have their regional offices in Orissa;

(c) basic criteria for setting up of regional offices of nationalised banks; and

(d) whether Government propose to set up more regional offices of banks in Orissa for better management of the banking business and the employees matters?

THE MINISTER OF FINANCE (PROF. MADHU DANDAVATE): (a) The names of public sector banks their branches in Orissa as on 31.12.1989 (latest figures available) are indicated in the Statement below.

(b) The administrative controlling structure of the State Bank of India and of public sector banks is not uniform. The following banks have their Regional, Zonal or Divisional Offices in Orissa:

1. Allahabad Bank

2. Andhra Bank

- 3. Central Bank of India
- 4. Bank of India
- 5. Indian Bank
- 6. Indian Overseas Bank
- 7. Punjab National Bank
- 8. State Bank of India
- 9. Union Bank of India
- 10. United Bank of India
- 11. Canara Bank
- 12. Syndicate Bank
- 13. UCO Bank

(c) and (d). It is for the banks to decide the location of their controlling offices for ensuring effective supervision and control over their branches, taking into consideration the number of branches, level of business, spatial distribution, cost-benefit analysis, availability of infrastructural facilities and administrative convenience. There are at present 24 controlling offices of the banks mentioned above located in Orissa. At present no applications are pending with the Reserve Bank of India from any public sector bank for opening its Regional Office or other controlling office in Orissa.

Name of Bank		No. of Branches
	1	2
1.	State Bank of India	377
2.	State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur	1
3.	State Bank of Hyderabad	2

Name of Bank		No. of Branches
	1	2
4.	Allahabad Bank	43
5 .	Andhra Bank	69
6.	Bank of Baroda	13
7.	Bank of India	87
8.	Canara Bank	31
9.	Central Bank of India	41
10.	Corporation Bank	2
11.	Dena Bank	2
12.	Indian Bank	33
13.	Indian Overseas Bank	61
14.	New Bank of India	10
15.	Oriental Bank of Commerce	2
16.	Punjab & Sınd Bank	2
17.	Punjab National Bank	22
18.	Syndicate Bank	21
19.	UCO Bank	147
20.	Union Bank of India	36
21.	United Bank of India	85
2 2.	Vijay Bank	5

[Translation]

Payment to Artists of T.V. Centre in Jaipur 2896. SHRI GIRDHARI LAL BHAR-GAVA: Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state: (a) whether payments are invariably made to artists immediately after their performance in the television centres;

(b) if so, whether any cases are pending in Jaipur for payment;