(c) if not, on what basis Government deny that their recent decision of delicensing will not hit small scale units?

THE MINISTER OF CHEMICALS AND FERTILIZERS AND INDUSTRY AND COMPANY AFFAIRS (SHRI VEERENDRA PATIL): (a) Yes, Sir.

- (b) As there are thousands of small. scale drug manufacturing units and as they are not required to obtain industrial approvals under the Industries (Development & Regulation) Act, it is difficult to have complete data on their production potential.
- (c) As the scheme of delicensing is intended to simplify licensing procedure for non-FERA and non-MRTP companies in respect of articles not reserved for small scale sector, it does not affect the small scale sector.

Production of Bulk Drugs by small scale units

- 123. SHRI SIDHA LAL MURMU: Will the Minister of CHEMICALS AND FERTILIZERS be pleased to state:
- (a) the details of the bulk drugs manufactured by the small scale units;
- (b) their capacity and production yearwise during the last three years;
- (c) whether these capacities are taken into account while issuing letter of intent; and
- (d) if so, in which cases during the last three years the capacities were taken into consideration; and if not, the reasons thereof?

THE MINISTER OF CHEMICALS AND FERTILIZERS AND INDUSTRY AND **COMPANY AFFAIRS (SHRI VEERENDRA** PATIL): (a) and (b). My Ministry monitors the production of 87 bulk drugs in the organised sector. Efforts are being made to extend the coverage to small scale units. As there are thousands of small scale drug units and they are exempted from obtaining industrial approvals under the Industries (Development & Regulation) Act, it is difficult to have a precise idea of the capacities in the small scale sector. Depending on merits, items are reserved for small scale sector from time to time.

- (c) No, Sir.
- (d) Does not arise.

Telecommunication and Postal Facilities in Tribal and Backward Districts of Orissa

- 124. SHRI GIRIDHAR GOMANGO: Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:
- (a) the funds provided by his Ministry to Orissa State during Sixth Plan for the development of telecommunication Postal Services and the achievements made by the General Manager, Telephones and Post Master General Circle thereof;
- (b) the schemes and programmes prepared by the General Manager Telephones and Post Master General Circle and submitted to his Ministry for Seventh Five Year Plan; and
- (c) the steps taken by his Ministry to increase the Telecommunication and postal facilities to tribal and backward districts of Orissa during Sixth Plan out of the Sixth Plan allocations and schemes thereof?

THE MINISTER OF STATE OF THE MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS(SHRI RAM NIWAS MIRDHA): (a) Telecom The Orissa Circle was provided Rs. 20.41 crores during the 6th plan period to execute the capital works. The Telecom Circle opened 4 DTOs, 380 LDPTs and 101 new MAX III exchanges, automatised 5 manual exchanges. achieved increase in local switching capacity by 12,625 line and provided 10,656 direct exchange line during the 6th plan period.

(b) The Orissa Telecom Circle has proposed to instal 31,600 lines of local switching equipment and 250 lines of telex equipment during the 7th plan period. 4000 lines of Digital TAX equipment at Cuttack has also been planned. It is also proposed to provide 2250 Long Distance Public Telephones and 2287 telegraph offices in this plan. The Circles has made proposal for 75 Kms of ducting for protecting the external plant.

These targets from part of this Ministry 7th plan proposals envisaging an outlay of Rs. 13000 crores. The proposals are under discussions. Preliminary indications that resources to this extent may not be available and plan may have to be scaled down significantly.

(c) During the 6th Five Year Plan the following telecommunications facilities were provided in the Tribal and Backward areas of the State (i) 296 long distance Public Telephones 54, new MAX III exchangec and 1 DTO were opened (ii) 3 manaul exchanges were converted into automatic exchanges, (iii) Local switching capacity of exchanges increased by 6765 lines, to provide 5656 direct exchange lines.

Postal

- (a) Rs. 62 lakhs were provided for expansion of Postal Services in Orissa State for the Sixth Plan. The achievements of the plan schemes during the Sixth Plan were as under:
 - (i) Post Offices opened 377
- (ii) EDDAs appointed for improvement of village 570 delivery
- 797 (iii) Letter Boxes Planted
- (iv) Counter Service 486 provided to villages
- (b) Seventh Five Year Plan for the Postal Department is yet to be finalized. Targets for Postal development are set after approval by Planning Commission of the Annual Plans from year to year. During 1985-86, it is proposed to open 92 Post Offices including 52 in tribal and backward areas subject to lifting of economy orders banning creation of new posts.
- (c) Expansions made in the Postal Sector out of the allocation and schemes of the Sixth Plan in tribal and backward areas of Orissa are as under:
 - ---258 (i) Post Offices opened

- (ii) EDDAs appointed for improvement of village delivery -354
- (iii) Letter Boxes Planted -396
- (iv) Counter service provided to villages --197

Long Distance Public Telephone and Public call Offices in Koraput District of Orissa

- 125. SHRI GIRIDHAR GOMANGO: Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:
- (a) the places to be provided LDPT and PCO during the year 1985-86 in Koraput district of Orissa by the Telecommunication Circle:
- (b) the progress made to connect Rayagada with Gunupur sub-divisional Headquarters by direct lines;
- (c) the reasons for not providing LDPT AND PCO at the places of importance such as Block Headquarters, irrigation projects, etc. and the remedial measures taken therefor; and
- (d) the schemes approved for different developmental aspects of that district which are in hand?

THE MINISTER OF STATE OF THE OF COMMUNICATIONS MINISTRY (SHRI RAM NIWAS MIRDHA): (a) Fifteen places are planned to be provided with Long Distance Public Telephones Koraput district. The names of places are given below:-

- 1. Hatibada
- 2. Padwa
- 3. Ramnaguda
- 4. Bandhugaon
- 5. Jagannathpur
- 6. Katiki
- 7. Umeri
- 8. Kumuliput
- 9. Almanda
- 10. Guneipada
- 11. Ghonar
- 12. Durgi
- 13. Sasahandi
- 14. Churahandi
- 15. Santoshpur,