- (b) the names of the places where these forest-based industries have been located:
- (c) the number of people provided employment in those industrial units: and
  - (d) the details thereof?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF INDUSTRY AND COMPANY AFFAIRS (SHRI ARIF MOHAMMAD KHAN): (a) to (d): The following forest-based industries have been set up in the organised sector in the State of Madhya Pradesh:

Name of the Unit	Location	Item of manufacture	
Straw Products Ltd.	Bhopal	Paper and Paper Board	
Orient Paper Mills Ltd	Amlai	—do—	
Oriental Plywood &	Gogon	Plywood	
Veneering Industry	Raipur		
Central India Board Products	Itarsi	Particle Board	
Parmal Wellace Ltd.	Bhopal	Density Board	

In addition, a number of units have been set up in the small scale and cottage sectors during the years 1981-82, 1982-83 and 1983-84 as indicated below:

	1981-82	1982-83	1983-84
Artisan	753	1901	1541
S. S. I.	86	620	423
Total	839	2521	1964

Information about the number of people provided employment in the above units, and the names of places where the small scale and cottage sector located is not centrally units are maintained.

# Opening of Post Offices in Backward Regions during Seventh Five Year Plan

- 564. KUMARI PUSHPA DEVI: Will the Minister of COMMUNICA-TIONS be pleased to state:
- (a) the number of post offices proposed to be opened in the country during the Seventh Five Year Plan:

- (b) whether his Ministry will consider the proposal of opening more post offices in the backward regions of various States; and
- (c) if so, the particulars of the backward regions in different States identified for opening new post offices during the Seventh Five Year Plan?

THE MINISTER OF STATE OF THE MINISTRY OF COMMUNICA-TIONS (SHRI RAM NIWAS MIRDHA): (a) The Seventh Five Year Plan (1985-90) has not yet been final ised.

(c): Subsidised postal (b) and development is done for Tribal and postally backward areas in the country. Tribal areas are those notified by Ministry of Home Affairs. Postal backwardness is where an area is fully 100% or more behind the All India figure of postal coverage. This is revised periodically to ensure proper postal development in the country. Existing list of backward areas in the country is enclosed as Statement.

#### Statement

Schedule of backward areas far purpose of Postal Development.

#### 1. ANDHRA:

Nugur, Yellundu Bhadrachalam, and Kothagudem Taluks of Khamman Distt., Rampachodavaram and Prathipadi taluks of East Godavari Distt. Chintapalli taluks of Visakhapathnam Distt. Munthani and Mahadevour taluks of Karimnagar Distt. and Gadwal, Kodangal Kurthi. Achampet taluks of Mahabubnagar Distt., Kuppam taluk of Chitoor Distt. Deuara-Konda taluk of Nalgonda District, Chenur taluk (except 2 villages in Chenur C. D. Block delinrated as tribal and including the tribal sub plan area and Rannapur taluk (except 12 villages in Kannapur C. D. Block delineated as tribal and including the tribal sub plan of Adilabad Distt.

#### 2. BIHAR:

Dhanbad, Hazaribagh and Palamau District.

(excluding urban area/agglomerations).

Shalkund. Gopalpur, Sonahula, Sabour, Katorial, Shambhugani. Dhauraiya and Baruhat blocks Bhagalpur Distt. Chaksi, Sono, Laxim Jamalpur, Sadar, Dharhara, Halsi, Sikandra Suraigarha, Khaira blocks of Monghyr Distt. of Rohtas Distt. Adhaura block Pritand block of Girdib Distt.

## 3. GUJARAT:

Bhuj and Lakhpat taluks of Kuchchh Distt. Jambughode taluk of Panchaahal Distt. Jusdan, Wankaner, Paddhari and Lodhika taluks of Rajkot Distt. Sami taluk of Mehsana Distt. Okhamandal taluk of Jamnagar Distt. Chotila and Sayla taluks of Surindarnagar Distt. Disa, Radhanpur, Santhalpur, Deodar, Vav, Tharad, Danta and Dhanera taluks of Banaskantha District.

# 4. JAMMU & KASHMIR:

The whole of Jammu & Kashmir State.

#### 5. KARNATAKA:

Sagar and Hasangar taluks Shimoga Distt. Heggadadevankote taluk Mysore Distt. Hailyal, Supa. Yellapur, taluk of North Kanara Distt. Kalghatgi taluk in Dharwad Distt. Khanapur and Sorab taluks in Belgaum Distt. Khanapur and Sorab taluks in Belgaum Distt. Sidlagatta. Chintamari, Bagepalli, Mulbagal, Gudibanda, Malur and Srinivaspur taluks of Kolar District, Anekal, Devanahalli, Hoskote, Dodbalapur and Magidi taluks of Bangalore Distt.

### 6. KERALA:

Kottarakara taluk of Quilon Distt. Kunnathanad taluk of Ernakulam Distt and Meenachill taluk of Kottayam Distt.

#### 7. MADHYA PRADESH:

Shivpuri, Panna, Guna and Vidisha Distts. as a whole excluding urban agglomeration.

Morena Distt. (Excluding urban agglomeration and Karnal Block).

R2jnandgaon Distt (excluding urban agglomeration Manpur Mohta and Chowki blocks).

Sahdol Distt. (Excluding urban agglomeration Pushparajhagarh and Sohagpur Tehsils and Jai Singh Nagar Community Development of Beobari Tehsil.

Sidhi. Distt. (excluding urban agglomeration. Kusmi T. D. block of Gopadbanas Tehsil).

#### 8. MAHARASHTRA:

Kalyan and Ulhasuagar Tehsils/ Taluks of Thane District, Ganganitavda Tehsils/Taluk of Kolhapur District. Satari and Sanguem Tehsils/Taluks of Goa District: Rajura Tehsil/Taluk of Chandrapur District Pen and Khalapur Taluks/Tehsils of Raigadh District/ Taluk Jintur Tehsils/Taluk of Parbhani. District and Maval Tehsil/Taluk of pune District.

# 9. NORTH EASTERN:

Karbi Anglong and North Cachar Hill Districts and Baharihat Block in Changa Tehsil in Kamprup District.

## 10. NORTH WESTERN:

Guhla Tehsil of Kurukshetro District.

### 11. ORISSA:

Mohana block of Ganiam District.

### 12. RAJASTHAN:

Barmer, Shiv, Pachpaha and Chohtan Tehsil of Barmer District, Jailsalmer and Pokaran Tehsils of Jaisalmer District Poalodi, Osianm Shergarh and Jodhpur Tehsil of Jodhpur District, Sriganganagar, Nohar, Hanumanharh, Sadulshahar, Sangaria and Suratgarh Tehsil of Sriganganagar District, Krishangani. Shahbad and Ladpur Tehsil of Kota District, Churu and Sardarshahar Tehsil of Churu District, Bikaner, Lunkaransar Nokha and Srikotayatji Tehsil of Bikaner District.

### 13. TAMIL NADU:

Manambathi, Firka in Chengalpathus District, Manamelkudi Block and Veer patti, Illurpur, Perumarudur. Pudunagar Firka in Pudukkottai Mangalam Firka in District and Ramanathapuram District.

#### 14. UTTAR PRADESH:

Mirzapur (South of river Sone), Babhni, Dudhi, Robertsganj, Negwachatra and Roggarh Blocks of Mirzapur District, Sirsla Block of Bhinga Tehsil, Jamunha. Ikauna. Bishasharganj, Gilaula, Kaiserganj, Fakharpur, Jarwal, Sheopur, Nawabganj, Risia and Hariharpur Blocks in Bahraich District, Painkhanda and Palti Nandak Parganas in Chamoli District, Balrampur Tehsil of Gonda District, Bhetua and Bhadar Blocks in Sultanpur District, Solan Block in Rae Bareli District and Uttarkashi Basti, Saharanpur, Moradabad, Rampur, Bareilly, Lucknow, Sitapur, Hardoi, Unnao, Pratapgarh, Gorakhpur, Deoria. Azamgarh, Jaunpur, Ghazipur, Varrnasi, Barabhanki, Bijnore, Pilibhit, Shahjahanpur and Allahabad Districts (excluding urban areas/aggelomeration).

# 15. WEST BENGAL

Kalimpong sub division of Darjeeling District and Andeman and Nicobar Islands (District as a whole).

Setting up Telephone Exchange at Radhu Palace in the Trans-Yamuna of Laxmi Nagar Shakarpur, Delhi

- 565. SHRI VILAS MUTTEM-WAR: Will the minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:
- (a) whether the project of putting up a Telephone Exchange at Radhu Palace in Trans-Yamuna area of Laxmi Nagar and Shakarpur, Delhi has been pending completion for a long time;
- (b) the original scheduled date for the initiation and completion of the project;
- (c) the specific reasons for the delay in the commissioning of the project ; and