Press Council no representatives of the working Journalists have been taken:

- (b) if so, the reasons therefor; and
- (c) if not, the details of the nominees in the Press Council and to whom they represent?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE

MINISTRY OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING, AND IN THE DEPART-MENT OF COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI L. K. GUJRAL): (a) to (c). In accordance with the provisions contained in Section 4 of the Press Council Act, 1965, the Nominating Committee nominated the persons named below on the Press Council of India which was reconstituted] accordingly with effect from October 1, 1970:—

## Shri Justice N. Rajagopala Ayyangar—Chairman.

1. Shri Kuldip Navar Members from among the Working Journa- 4 lists- Shri R. Madhavan Nair
Shri T. A. Subramaniam Editors (English Newspapers), Sec. 4 (3) (a). 4. Shri Ratanlal Joshi Members from among Working Journalists-Editors 5. Shri A. K. Jain (Indian Language Newspapers). Section 4 (3) (a). 6. Shri Jang Bahadur Singh 7. Shri Chandrakant F. Shah Members from among Working Journalists other 8. Shri Sailen Chatterjee than Editors. Section 4 (3) (a). 9. Shri N. B. Lele 10. Shri B. K. Joshi 11. Shri C L. Suri 12. Shri R. Rangarajan 13. Shri K. V. Ramakrishnan Shri G. Narasimhan
Shri R. G. Baruah Members from among persons who own or carry on the business of management of newspapers. Section 16. Shri Durga Das 4 (3) (b). 17. Shri N. B. Parulekar18. Shri N. Tiwari19. Shri P. R. Ramakrishnan Members from among persons who manage news 20. Shri G. G. Mirchandani agencies. Section 4 (3) (c). 21. Professor Tapas Mazumdar Members nominated by the University Grants Com-22. Shri Suraj Parkash Gupta mission, the Bar Council of India and the Sahitya 23. Professor K. R. Srinivasa Iyengar Academy respectively. Section 4 (3) (d). Members nominated by the Speaker from among Members of the House of the People and the Chairman from among Members of the Council of 24. Shri Surendranath Dwivedy 25. Shri Anantrao Patil 26. Shri Ganga Sharan Sinha States respectively. Section 4 (3) (e).

Thus working journalists have got full representation in the reconstituted Council in accordance with the provisions of the Press Council Act.

## Opening of Post offices in Madhubani-Darbhanga, Bihar

1595. SHRI SHIVA CHANDRA JHA: Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND

BROADCASTING AND COMMUNICA-TIONS be pleased to State:

- (a) the number of new post offices opened in the Madhubani sub-division (Darbhanga district, Bihar) since July, 1970 and their location;
- (b) the number of pending cases for opening of post offices and their location; and

(c) whether the Mahadeomath post office been upgraded; if so, when and if not, the reasons therefor?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING, AND IN THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI SHER SINGH): (a) Only one extra departmental branch post office has been opened at Shyam Sidhopunder in the Madhubani sub-division of Darbhanga district of Bihar since July, 1970.

- (b) Thirty six proposals for opening of post offices at Chandradih, Bardpur, Haripur Baksit, Jai Nagar Barh, Churi, Bihar-pur, Sundar Vijagit, Jhotki, Beluri, Balia, Hatkaria, Inarwara, Basaha, Chunapati, Hasner, Bagraha, Jhaher, Baman, Natirbela, Sisauni, Ganjali, Chandharana Parsa Bijen, Banki, Sisauna, Rahua, Sangram, Sokhrawan, Sambhuan, Mirzapur, Chhachha, Belahi, Cherapatti, Pouni, Sukhbasi, Barsam and Haiderpur in Madhubani sub-division of Darbhanga district are being examined by the Postmaster General, Patna. Orders for opening a post office at Khajuri have already been issued by the Postmaster General, Patna on 3-11-1970 and this post office is expected to be opened shortly.
- (c) The proposal for upgrading the status of Mahadeomath extra departmental branch post office into that of a departmental sub post office is being examined by the Senior Superintendent of Post Offices, Darbhanga Division.

## Gratuity Scheme for Coal-Mining Industry

1596. SHRI DEVEN SEN: Will the Minister of LABOUR AND REHABILITATION be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Government have come to a final decision as to the date from which the scheme of gratuity will become actually operative in the coal-mining industry; and
- (b) whether he is aware that the delay benefits the employers to the detriment of the interest of the workers?

THE MINISTER OF LABOUR AND REHABILITATION (SHRI D. SANJIVAYYA): (a) and (b). The matter involves legislation and is still being processed in consultation with the Ministries/Departments concerned. Efforts are being made to expedite it.

## Supply of Seeds of Improved variety to Members of Parliament

- 1597. SHRI H. N. MUKERJEE: Will the Minister of FOOD AND AGRICULTURE be pleased to state:
- (a) the reasons for the special arrangements by his Ministry for the supply of seeds of improved varieties to Members of Parliament;
- (b) whether there are special circumstances warranting the said Members not having to be in the queue like the rest of our citizens;
- (c) since when the special facility been given; and
- (d) whether the said Members are required to assist Government by giving reports regarding the results quantitative and qualitative of the sowing of such seeds?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF FOOD, AGRICULTURE, COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AND COOPERATION (SHRI ANNASAHIB SHINDE): (a) The National Seeds Corporation has opened a counter in Krishi Bhavan with effect from the 14th November, 1969 for the sale of seeds of improved varieties available to the Members of Parliament more conveniently.

- (b) Only seeds of such varieties as are also being distributed to the public are sold on this counter. No special treatment is accorded to M. Ps in the matter of seeds which are not put in the market for general distribution.
- (c) The National Seeds Corporation's counter was opened on 14.11.69.
  - (d) No, Sir.