## U.N. International Conference on Narcotic Drugs

897. SHRI MAYAVAN: Will the Minister of FINANCE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether it is a fact that a Conference of the U.N. International on Narcotic drugs was held in New Delhi in October, 1967:
  - (b) if so, the subjects discussed thereat;
  - (c) the decisions arrived at;
- (d) the number of countries who participated in the conference; and
- (e) whether any proposal was put forward by the Indian representative in the conference?

THE DEPUTY PRIME MINISTER AND MINISTER OF FINANCE (SHRI MORARJI DESAI): (a) A United Nations Seminar on Narcotics Control was held in New Delhi from the 9th October to 21st October, 1967.

- (b) A list of the subjects discussed in the Seminar is laid on the Table of the House. [Placed in Library. See No. LT-1608/67].
- (c) The Seminar was intended to provide training to officials of ECAFE region concerned with the control of opium and other narcotic drugs derived therefrom. The question of the Seminar taking any decisions, therefore, did not arise. The Seminar, however made certain recommendations for further tightening up the control of narcotic drugs. A copy of the recommendations has not yet been officially received from the United Nations Secretariat. However, a gist of the recommendations as reported by the Indian representatives who attended the Seminar, is laid on the Table of the House. [Placed in Library. See No. LT-1609/671.
  - (d) 23 countries.
  - (e) No, Sir.

## CENTRAL DIRECT TAXES ADVISORY COMMITTEE

898. SHRI MAYAVAN: Will the Minister of FINANCE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether it is a fact that Government have reconstituted the Central Direct Taxes Advisory Committee;
  - (b) if so, the reasons therefor; and
  - (c) its composition and functions?

THE DEPUTY PRIME MINISTER AND MINISTER OF FINANCE (SHRI MORARJI DESAI): (a) Yes, Sir,

- (b) The term of office of Members of Parliament nominated to the Committee is 2 years or till they cease to be members of Parliament, whichever is earlier. The term of office of other non-official members is 2 years. Members of Parliament nominated earlier in 1964 ceased to be members of Parliament when the Parliament was dissolved early in 1967. The term of office of the non-official members being 2 years, their term had also to be extended. It was extended upto 31-3-1967. As the term of office of members of Parliament as also the non-official members had expired, the Committee had to be reconstituted. It was reconstituted on 8-10-1967.
- (c) The composition of the Committee is as under:—
  - (1) Chairman: Deputy Prime Minister & Finance Minister.
  - (2) Vice-Chairman: Minister (Revenue & Expenditure).
  - (3) Four Members of Parliament-
    - (i) Shri M. V. Krishnappa.
    - (ii) Shri S. D. Patil.
    - (iii) Shri N. K. Somani.
    - (iv) Shri Uma Shankar Dixit.
  - (4) Two ex-officio Members-
    - (i) President, Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce & Industry (Shri L. N. Birla).
    - (ii) President, Associated Chambers of Commerce & Industry of India (Shri C. A. Pitts).
  - (5) Six other non-official Members-
    - Shri V. R. Mohan,
       Deputy Managing Director, Mohan
       Meakin Breweries Ltd., Lucknow.
    - (ii) Shri Kasturbhai Lalbhai, Industrialist, Ahmedabad.
    - (iii) Shri K. S. Dutt, Chairman, Andhra Bank Ltd., Visakhapatnam.