4353 Written Answers JYAISTHA 22, 1889 (SAKA) Written Answers 4354

(c) A copy of the Memorandum of Association and Rules & Regulations of the Institute is being laid on the Table of the House. [Placed in Library. Sce No. LT-609/67]. The Executive Council of the Institute at present consists of the following:--

1. Shri Y. B. Chavan . 2. Shri Dharma Vira	:	President Member
3. Gen. J. N. Chaudhuri	•	19
4. Shri K. C. Pant.		
5. Shri L. K. Jha	·	(Sincc resigned)
Shri S. Bhoothalingam		Member
7. Shri N. Dandeker		37
8. Shri V. Shankar	•	**
9. Shri H. C. Sarin.		**
 Director of the Instit (Maj Gen. D. Som Dutt) 		(ex-officio Member)

The senior full-time staff of the Institute at present consists of-

1. Director of the Institute.

2. Administrative Officer.

(d) The Director of the Institute is a member of the Institute for Strategic Studies, London, with which he worked from August 1965 to September 1966 prior to his present appointment. Information about other members of the Institute is not readily available.

Central Press Accreditation Committee

2179. Shri Jyotirmoy Basu: Will the Minister of Information and Broadcasting be pleased to state:

(a) the guiding principles under which the Central Press Accreditation Committee is constituted.

(b) whether Government have received any communication from the Indian Federation of Working Journalists intimating their readiness to accommodate representatives of the Press Association and News Cameramen Association in the Panel of Four submitted by them;

(c) whether there is any move to reduce the strength of the representatives of the trade unions of working journalists; and

(d) when the outgoing Central Press Accreditation Committee me last and when the new Committee will be announced?

The Minister of Information and Bundcapting (Shri K. K. Shah): (a) The guiding principles underlying the composition of the Committee are that the Committee should consist of representatives of Editors and working journalists who are in a position to assess the needs and professional competence of journalists and advise the Government suitably in the matter of accreditation. The Committee, at present, consists of eight members; four editors and four working journalists who are selected in consultation with the all-India organisations of editors and working journalists in accordance with the recommendations of the Press Commission and the normal tenure of the Committee is one year.

(b) Yes, Sir. The Indian Federation of Working Journalists have offered to include two nominees of the Press Association and one of the Cameramen's Association in their quota of four provided the names are routed through the I.F.W.J. a preposition which is not acceptable to the Press Association.

(c) Government are negotiating with the Federation and Press Association a workable solution.

(d) The last meeting of the Committee was held on October 13, 1966 and the re-constitution of the new Committee is under consideration.

Acquisition of Land in Assam

2180. Shri B. N. Shastri: Will the Minister of Defence be pleased to state:

(a) whether Government propose to acquire land for defence purposes in Chabati area of the North Lakhimpur Sub-Division, Assam; and

(b) if so, the area of the land proposed for acquisition?

The Minister of Defence (Shri Swaran Singh): (a) There is no proposal under consideration at present to acquire land for defence purposes in Chabati area of North Lakhimpur Sub-Division, in Assam.

(b) Does not arise,