not aware of any such visiting professor or of the Government of India baving assisted in drawing up his tour programme.

SECRETARIES IN CENTRAL SECRETARIAT

500. Pandit C. N. Malviya: Will the Minister of Home Affairs be pleased to state:

(a) what was the number of Joint Secretaries and Additional Secretaries in April, 1947 in the Secretariat of the Government of India including Detence Department; and

(b) what is the number of them at present?

The Minister of Home Affairs and States (Dr. Katju): (a) Joint Secretaries—39. Additional Secretaries— 6 (Includes 1 ex-officio Additional Secretary.)

(b) Joint Secretaries—47 (Includes ex-officio Joint Secretaries and 2 Officers on Special Duties of Joint Secretary's status). Additional Secretaries— 4 (Includes 3 ex-officio Additional Secretaries).

POST OFFICES FOR HILL DISTRICTS IN U.P.

502. Shri Bhakta Darshan: Will the Minister of Communications be pleased to state:

(a) how many new Post Offices and Telegraph Stations were opened during 1947-48, 1948-49, 1949-50, 1950-51 and 1951-52 in each of the five Hill Districts of Uttar Pradesh, namely Dehrs Dun, Garhwal, Tehri-Garhwal, Almora and Nainital, and at which places⁻

(b) whether all of them hav_e been successful or were any of them closed down later on;

(c) if so, what were the reasons;

(d) what are the total numbers of Post Offices and Telegraph Stations in each of these five Hill Districts now; and

(e) how many new Post Offices and Telegraph Stations are proposed to be opened in each of these Districts during 1952-53. and at which places?

The Deputy Minister of Communications (Shri Raj Bahadur): (a) Two statements containing the required information are attached. [See Appendix IX, annexure No. 47.]

(b) and (c). Only two post offices, one at Sanwal (Garhwal) and one at Rohira (Almora), were closed as they were running at a loss beyond the permissible limit. No Telegraph Office was closed.

22 JULY 1952

(d) Total number of Post Offices and Telegraph Offices existing in the nve hill Districts of Uttar Pradesh.

	Dehra- Garh- Thri dun wal Garhwal			Naini- Almora tal	
Post Offi- ces.	63	147	15	149	5 0
Telegraph Offices	18	12	3	8	13

(e) Telegraph offices proposed to be opened.

Dehra Dun—Nil. Tehri Garhwal—Nil. Garhwal—Chandrapuri and Tharali Almora—Bageshwar, Askote and Dwarhat. Nainital—Rudrapur and Gokalnagar.

The question of the policy to be pursued in the opening of rural Post Ottleves during 1952-53 is under consideration. Post Offices exist in all the villages with a population of 2,000 and above in the hill districts of Uttar Pradesh.

TELEPHONE EXCHANGES

503. Shri Bhakta Darshan: Will the Minister of Communications be pleased to state:

(a) how many new Telephone Exchanges and Public Call Offices were opened during 1947-48, 1948-49, 1949-50, 1950-51 and 1951-52 in each of the five Hill Districts of Uttar Pradesh, namely Dehra Dun, Garhwal, Tehri-Garhwal, Almora and Nainital, and at which places?

(b) whether all of them have been successful or were any of them closed down later on;

(c) if so, what were the reasons;

(d) what is the total number of Telephone Exchanges and Public Call Offices in each of these five Hill Districts now; and

(e) how many new Telephone Exchanges and Public Call Offices are proposed to be opened in each of these districts during 1952-53, and at what places;

The Deputy Minister of Communication (Shri Raj Bahadur): (a) A statement is laid on the Table of the House. [See Appendix IX, annexure No. 48.]