Age for Retirement

476. Shri B. B. Varma: Will the Minister of Home Affairs be pleased Will the to state:

- (a) whether formerly the age for retirement of the staff of the Ministerial service was fixed at 55 but it is now fixed at 60;
- (b) if so, since when the age of re-tirement has been fixed at 60 and on what grounds;
- (c) whether it is a fact that the question of refixing the age of retirement at 55 has been under consideration of Government for sometime
- (d) if so, what is the present position of the case and when a decision will be taken in the matter?

The Minister of Home Affairs and States (Dr. Katju): (a) and (b). The matter is governed by the provisions of Rule 56(b) of the Fundamental Rules which run as follows:

"F.R. 56. (b) (i) A ministerial servant who is not governed by subclause (ii) may be required to retire at the age of 55 years, but should ordinarily be retained in service, if he continues efficient, up to the age of 60 years. He must not be retained after that age except in very special circumstances, which must be recorded in writing, and with the sanction of the Local Government.

"(ii) A Ministerial servant-

- (1) who enters Government service on the 31st March or after the 1st April 1938, or
- (2) who being in Government service on the 31st March 1938 did not hold a lien or a suspended lien on a permanent post on that date.

shall ordinarily be required to retire at the age of 55 years. He must not be retained after that age except on public grounds which must be recorded in writing, and with the sanction of the Local Government he must not be retained after the age of 60 years except in very special circumstances

The original position was as in subclause (i). The addition of sub-clause (ii) was made in 1938.

There are similar provisions in the Civil Service Regulations which apply to certain classes of Government servants.

(c) and (d). Do no arise.

मध्य प्रवेश में डाक घर

४७७. श्री जांगड़े: क्या संचरण मंत्री यह बतलाने की कृपा करेंगे :

- (क) मध्य प्रदेश के वस्तर रायगढ़ और सरगजा ज़िलों में डाकघरों की कुल संख्या और साथ ही सन् १९४८ के बाद खोले गये नये डाकघरों की संख्या,
- (ख) इन ज़िलों में प्रत्येक में कितनी जनसंख्या के लिये एक डाकघर है, तथा
- (ग) क्या यह सच है कि सरगुजा जिले में सभी डाकघर पूर्व से पश्चिम जाने वाली एकमात्र सड़क पर स्थित हैं और उत्तर दक्षिण की ओर पचास पचास, साठ साठ मील तक कोई डाकघर नहीं है ?

The Deputy Minister of Communications (Shri Raj Bahadur): (a) and (b). A statement containing the required information is placed on the Table of the House. [See Appendix IX, annexure No. 42.]

(c) The Post Offices in Sarguja District mainly run in the East-West direction, as do the means of communication. but the Ramanuganj. Ambikapur, Sitapur and Pralapgarh Post Offices lie on the Ramanuganj-Ambikapur, Pharamjanggarh Road which runs in the North-South direction. Post Offices in Sarguj**a** (c) The which runs in the North-South direction.

छतील गड़ में तारघर

४७८. श्री जांगडे: (क) क्या संचरण मंत्री यह बतलाने की कृपा करेंगे कि छत्तीस-गढ (मध्य प्रदेश) में १९४७ से १९५२ वर्षों तक कितने मीलों तक तार (टेलीग्राफ़) के तार बिछाये गये, और किन किन स्थानों पर तारघर खोले गये ?

(ख) छत्तीसगढ़ में किन स्थानों पर "अपने टेलीफ़ोन का स्वामित्व प्राप्त करोे" योजना के आधीन नये टेलीफ़ोन ऐक्सचेंज या सार्वजनिक टेलीफ़ोन केन्द्र खोले गये या खलने वाले हैं ?