SEPTEMBER 9, 1991

(a) the number of persons getting old age pension in Uttar Pradesh;

(b) whether proposals requesting the Union Government to persuade the State Government of Uttar Pradesh to increase the rate of pension have been received;

(c) whether the Union Government have approached the State Government in the matter; and

(d) if so, the results thereof?

THE MINISTER OF WELFARE (SHRI SITARAM KESRI): (a) Old Age Pension, being a State subject, is provided by the State Governments out of their own resources and records are maintained at their level. As per the figures provided by the Government of Uttar Pradesh for the year 1987—88, total number of receipients of Old Age Pension Was 1,28,713.

(b) No, Sir.

(c) and (d). Ministry of Welfare had suggested to the State Governments and Union Territories to provide pension at a uniform rate of Rs. 100/- per month and to cover at least 20 per cent of the elderly population of 60 years and above Uttar Pradesh Government has enhanced the rate of pension from Rs. 60 per month to Rs. 100 per month from January, 1990.

[English]

Birth Centenaries of Great Personalities

6166. SHRI BRIJBHUSHAN SHARAN SINGH: Will the Minister of HUMAN RE-SOURCE DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state the names of great personalities whose birth centenaries were celebrated after January, 1988 and the expenditure incurred thereon? THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS AND THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF LAW, JUSTICE AND COM-PANY AFFAIRS. (SHRI RANGARAJAN KUMARAMANGALAM): The following centenaries have been celebrated from January, 1988:-

- S/Shri 1. Maulana Abdul Kalam Azad
 - 2. Dr. S. Radhakrishnan
 - 3. Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru
 - 4. Shri C.V. Raman
 - 5. Kanaka Dassa
 - 6. Shankara Charya
 - 7. Sri Papanasam Sivan
 - 8. Ustad Sadiq Ali Khan
 - 9. Tansen
 - 10. Govind Prasad
 - 11. Km. Jyotirmayee Ganguli
 - 12. Conjeevaram Naryana Pillai
 - 13. Raj Kumari Amrit Kaur
 - 14. Acharya Narendra Dev
 - 15. Dr. Sampurnanand
 - 16. Sri Prakash
 - 17. Nolini Kanta Gupta
 - 18. J.B. Kripalani
 - 19. Gopinath Bardolai

- 20. Govind Prasad
- 21. Jamnalal Bajaj
- 22. Jai Shankar Prasad
- 23. Dr. S.K. Sinha
- 24. K.M. Mun-shi
- 25. Ariyakudi Ramanuja Iyenger
- 26. Makhan Lal Chaturvedi
- 27. Vrandavan Lal Varma
- 28. Bharatidasam
- 29. Ganesh Ram Chandera Beherebuwa
- 30. Ram Naresh Tripathi
- 31. Lakmi Narayan Garde
- 32. Ganesh Shankar Vidyarthi
- 33. Asit Kumar Haldar
- 34. Dr. B.R. Ambedkar
- 35. Khan Abdul Gaffar Khan

The expenditure on the centenaries, except those of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar and Khan Abdul Gaffar Khan, was Rs. 1236.57 Lakhs. This includes an expenditure of Rs. 1164.45 lakhs incurred on the commemoration of the 40th Anniversary of India's Independence and on Pt. Nehru's Birth Centenary Celebrations.

Consumption of Liquor in India

6167. SHRI DAU DAYAL JOSHI: Will the Minister of WELFARE be pleased to state:

(a) the total quantity of Country made and Indian made foreign liquor consumed each year in the country; and

(b) whether its consumption is increasing continuously for the last three years and if so, whether Government have now abandoned the idea of prohibition; and

(c) if so, the reasons therefor?

THE MINISTER OF WELFARE (SHRI SITARAM KESRI): (a) to (c). A statement showing the information received from State Governments/UT Administrations regarding consumption of liquor during the years 1987. 1988 and 1989 is laid on the Table of the House It appears from this statement that the consumption of liquor is increasing in almost all the States. The Government of India has not abandoned the prohibition policy. Since Prohibition is a State subject necessary measures for the introduction of prohibition are to be taken by the State Governments. The detailed guidelines stipulating immediate and long term steps to be taken for enforcement of prohibition were sent to the State Governments in 1978. The States Governments/UT have been last reminded about the implementation of these guidelines vide letter dated 14.2.91 of this Ministry welfare, addressed to the Chief Secretaries of all States/Union Territories.