## about:blank

## Seventeenth Loksabha

pan>

## Title: Regarding Government's decision to revoke the payment of pre-matric scholarship to students.

SHRI KODIKUNNIL SURESH (MAVELIKKARA): Sir, the Central Government's decision to revoke the pre-matric scholarship for SC, ST, minority, and OBC students of Classes I to VIII is an assault on the student's right to education and access to education.

The UPA Government decided to implement pre-matric scholarships in 2008 because it was committed to making education accessible to all students, regardless of financial status. This enabled lakhs of students to continue their education without fear of running out of funds, and it also boosted their self-esteem in a variety of ways.

The Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment is discriminatory, and by ordering the suspension of pre-matric scholarship payments for students in Classes I to VIII and benefits for students in Classes IX and X, it is denying lakhs of students' financial support during the most critical years of their education.

The Ministry of Minority Affairs attempted to manipulate the intent and content of the Right to Education Act in order to exclude poor and marginalised students, and the decision effectively nullifies the child's right to an education.

Numerous surveys over the years have shown that minorities, especially Muslims, are lagging in education, along with poor, underprivileged, and highly marginalised students, including girls, who have faced difficulty in accessing quality education. The Government has fallen deaf to reason and blind to justice for these students, who are the future of this country. Hence, I urge the Government to immediately reinstate the pre-matric scholarship for students of SCs, STs, minorities, and OBCs in Classes I to VIII. This is a very important matter. So, the Government of India, the Ministry of Minority Affairs, and the Ministry of Social and Empowerment should immediately reinstate scholarships for SC, ST, minority, and OBC students of Classes I to VIII.

माननीय सभापति : श्री राहुल रमेश शेवाले – उपस्थित नहीं।

श्री बी. मणिक्कम टैगोर।