1/30/23, 10:51 AM about:blank

## Sixteenth Loksabha

an>

Title: Regarding celebration of Adivasi Diwas.

DR. HEENA VIJAYKUMAR GAVIT (NANDURBAR): Madam Speaker, I would like to greet and congratulate all the tribals on the occasion of 'Vishwa Adivasi Gaurav Din. Government has formulated many schemes for the tribals in Maharashtra.

Earlier, food was served to tribal students in tribal hostels; uniforms and other educational and sports material was also supplied to tribal students in Ashram Shala. Many schemes were also brought by the Government for the welfare of tribal farmers. But, now the Government has made a significant change in these schemes and all these schemes have now been covered under DBT scheme. So, instead of providing cooked food to students, they have been provided cash under cash transfer system. The tribal students in hostels do not receive this cash well within time and that is why they have to face boarding problems.

Hon. Speaker Madam, the same practice is also applied in Adivasi Ashram Shala. Earlier the students used to get educational and other material from the Government, but now money is being transferred directly to the guardian's bank account. The guardians use that money to fulfill their household needs and not for their wards.

Hon. Speaker, the schemes to provide oil engines and pipes to tribal farmers, have also been changed now. Now, these farmers have to procure these agricultural equipments on their own and after submitting the bill they receive the money. This is the reason why they are deprived of the benefits of these welfare scheme. Hence, through you Madam, I would like to request Central Government to withdraw this DBT scheme and the old schemes should be restored. On this occasion of 'Vishwa Adivasi Gaurav Din', I would also like to request Government to declare this day as a National holiday.

Thank you.

## 12 32 hrs

At this stage, Shrimati Ranjeet Ranjan and some other

hon. Members came and stood on the floor near the Table.

about:blank 1/2

1/30/23, 10:51 AM about:blank

HON. SPEAKER: Shri Rahul Shewale, Shri Arjun Lal Meena,

Dr. Kulmani Samal, Shri Lakhan Lal Sahu, Shri Rabindra Kumar Jena and Shri Bhairon Prasad Mishra are permitted to associate with the issue raised by Dr. Heena Vijaykumar Gavit.

Prof. Seetaram Natik - not present

about:blank 2/2