## Setting up of Industries in undeveloped Districts

\*141. SHRI RAJENDRA AGNI-HOTRI: Will the PRIME MINIS-TER be pleased to state:

- (a) the names of districts which are industrially undeveloped, State-wise;
- (b) whether any scheme is pending with the Government to set up industries in such undeveloped districts; and
  - (c) if so, the details thereof?

Andhra Pradesh (14)

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF INDUSTRY (PROF. P. J. KURIEN): (a) A statement showing list of centrally declared backward Districts is attached.

50

(b) and (c) The Government in June 1988 announced a scheme for setting up of growth centres throughout the country for industrialisation of backward areas. Under the scheme it is proposed to develop 70 growth centres in the first phase.

Anantapur, Chittoor, Cuddapah, Karim-

## STATEMENT

List of Industrially Backward Districts in the Country

| Andhra Pradesh (14) | nagar, Khammam, Kurnool, Mehbubnagar, Medak, Nalgonda, Nellore, Nizamabad, Ongole, Srikakulam and Warangal.   |
|---------------------|---|
| Bihar (18)          | Bnagalpui, Champaran, Darbhanga,<br>Muaffarpur, Palamau, Purnea, Saharsa,<br>Santhal Parganas, Saran, Nalanda,<br>Aurangabad, Nawadah, Gaya, Bhojpur,<br>Begusarai, Monghyr, Khagaria and<br>Madhepur.  |
| Gujarat (11) •      | Amreli, Banaskantha, Bhavnagar,<br>Broach, Junagadh, Kutch, Mehsana,<br>Panchmahals, Sabarkantha, Surender-<br>nagar and Dang.  |
| Haryana (4)         | Bhiwani, Hissar, Jind and Mohindergarh  |
| Kerala (7)          | Alleppey, Cannanore, Malapuram, Trichur, Trivandrum, Wynad and Iddukki.   |
| Karnataka (11)      | Belgaum, Bidar, Bijapur, Dharwar, Gulbarga, Hasan, Mysore, North Kanara, Raichur, South Kanara and Tumkur.  |
| Madhya Pradesh (36) | Balaghat, Bastar, Betul, Bilaspur, Bhind, Chhatarpur, Chindwara, Domoh, Datia, Dhar, Dewas, Guna, Hoshangabad, Jhabua, Khargone, Mandla, Mandsaur, Morena, Narsimhapur, Panna, Raigarh, Raipur, Rajnandgaon, Rajgarh, Raisen, Ratlam, Rewa, Sagar, Seoni, Shajapur, Shivpuri, Sidhi, Surguja, Tikamgarh, Vidisha and New Sehore District. |
| Maharashtra (14)    | Aurangabad, Bhandara, Bhir, Buldhana<br>Chandrapur, Colaba, Dhulia, Jalgaon,<br>Nanded, Osmanabad, Parbhani, Ratnagiri,   |

Yeotmal and Gadchiroli.

52

Lakshadweep .

| 31 Willen Answe    | 13 |   | 101 | 21 24, 1991 Wruten Answers 32  |
|--------------------|----|---|-----|--|
| Orissa (8)         | •  | • | •   | Balasore, Bolangir, Dhenkanal, Kalahandi, Keonjhar, Koraput, Mayurbhanj, and Phulbani.   |
| Punjab (5) .       | •  | • | •   | Bhatinda, Ferozpur, Gurdaspur, Hoshiar-<br>pur and Sangrur.  |
| Rajasthan (16).    | •  | • | •   | Alwar, Banswara, Bhilwara, Barmer, Churu, Dungarpur, Jaisatmer, Jalore, Jhunjhunu, Jhalwar, Jodhpur, Nagaur, Sikar, Sirohi, Tonk and Udaipur.  |
| Tamil Nadu (9)     | •  | • |     | Dharmapuri, Kanyakumari, Madhurai,<br>North Arcot, Ramanathapuram, South<br>Arcot, Thanjavur, Tiruchirapalli and<br>Pudukkottai district.  |
| Uttar Pradesh (41) | •  |   | •   | Almora, Azamgarh, Badaun, Baharaich, Ballia, Banda, Barabanki, Basti, Bulandshahar, Chamoli, Deoria, Etah, Etawah, Faizabad, Farrukhabad, Fathehpur, Ghazipur, Gonda, Hamirpur, Harodoi, Jalaun, Jaunpur, Jhansi, Mainpuri, Mathura, Moradabad, Pilibhit, Pithoragath, Partapgarh, Rai-Bereli, Rampur, Unnao, Uttar Kashi, Kanpur Dehat, Pauti Garhwal; Tehri Gahrwal, Dehradun, & Nainital, Shahajanpur, Sitapur and Sultanpur. |
| West Bengal (13)   | •  | • | •   | Bankura, Birbhum, Burdwan, Cooch-<br>Behar, Darjeeling, Hooghly, Jalpaiguri,<br>Malda, Midnapur, Murshidaoad, Nadia,<br>Purulia and West Dinajpur.   |
| Assam              |    |   |     | Entire State   |
| Himachal Pradesh   |    | _ |     | Entire State   |
| Jammu & Kashmir    |    |   |     |  |
|                    |    |   |     | Entire State   |
| Meghalaya .        | •  |   |     | Entire State   |
| Nagaland           |    | • |     | Entire State   |
| Sikkim             | •  | • |     | Entire State   |
| Tripura            | •  | • | •   | Entire State   |
| Arunachal Pradesh  | •  | • | •   | Entire State   |
| Goa                |    |   |     | Entire State   |
| Mizoram            |    |   |     | Entire State   |
| Andaman & Nicobar  |    |   |     | Entire U.T.  |
| Dadia & Nagar Have |    |   |     | Entire U.T.  |
| Daman & Diu .      |    |   |     |  |
| Pondicherry .      |    |   |     | 1  |
| i distributy .     | •  | • | •   | Lucio U.I.   |

Note: The district/area would include the district/area as it existed on 1-10-70 prior to its reorganization. Areas carved out of these districts thereafter continued to be industrially backward.

. Entire U.T.