SHRI P.R. DASMUNSI (Howrah): We pay our special compliments to Shri S. Jaipal Reddy's induction in the Cabinet.

## 12.46 hrs.

## MESSAGES FROM RAJYA SABHA

[English]

SECRETARY GENERAL: Sir. I have to report the following message received from the Secretary General of Rajya Sabha

(i) "I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on Monday, the 10th March, 1997 adopted the following motion in regard to the Committee on Public Accounts:

"That this House concurs in the recommendation of the Lok Sabha that the Raiya Sabha do agree to nominate seven Members from Rajya Sabha to associate with the Committee on Public Accounts of the Lok Sabha for the term beginning on the 1st May, 1997 and ending on the 38th April, 1998 and do proceed to elect in such manner as the Chairman may direct, seven Members from among the Members of the House to serve on the said Committee."

- 2. I am further to inform the Lok Sabha that in pursuance of the above motion, the following Member of the Rajya Sabha have been duly elected to the said Committee:
  - 1. Shri Ramdas Agarwal
  - 2. Shri R.K. Kumar
  - 3. Shri N. Giri Prasad
  - 4. Shrimati Kamla Sinha
  - 5. Shrimati Margaret Alva
  - 6. Shri Surinder Kumar Singla
  - 7. Shri Vayalar Ravi"
- (ii) "I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on Monday, the 10th March, 1997 adopted the following motion in regard to the Committee on the Public Undertakings:

"That this House concurs in the recommendation of the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha do agree to nominate seven Members from Rajya Sabha to associate with the Committee on Public Undertakings of the Lok Sabha for the term beginning on the 1st May, 1997 and ending on the 38th April, 1998 and do proceed to elect in such manner as the Chairman may direct, seven Members from among the Members of the House to serve on the said Committee."

- 2. I am further to inform the Lok Sabha that in pursuance of the above motion, the following Members of the Rajya Sabha have been duly elected to the said Committee :
  - 1. Shri Maheshwar Singh
  - 2. Prof. Ram Kapse
  - 3. Shri Dipankar Mukherjee
  - 4. Shri Solipeta Ramachandra Reddy
  - 5. Shri S.S. Ahluwalia
  - 6. Shri Ajit P.K. Jogi
  - 7. Shri V. Kishore Chandra S. Deo.\*
- (iii) "I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Raiya Sabha at its sitting held on Monday, the 10th March, 1997 adopted the following motion in regard to the Committee on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes:

"That this House resolves that the Rajya Sabha do join the Committee of both the Houses on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes for the term beginning on the 1st May, 1997 and ending on the 30th April, 1998, and do proceed to elect, in accordance with system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote, ten Members from among the Members of the House to serve on the said Committee."

- 2. I am further to inform the Lok Sabha that in pursuance of the above motion, the following Members of the Rajya Sabha have been duly elected to the said Committee:
  - 1. Shri Radhakishan Malaviya
  - 2. Shri Onward L. Nongtdu
  - 3. Shn Jagir Singh Dard
  - 4. Shri Ramachandran Pillai
  - 5. Shri Satish Pradhan
  - 6. Shri Ish Dutt Yadav
  - 7. Shri Joyanta Roy
  - 8. Shri Anil Kumar
  - 9. Shri Ram Nath Kovind
  - 10. Shri Jagannath Singh."