Seventeenth Loksabha

an>

Title: Rajya Sabha adapted a motion to join the committee of both the Houses on welfare of other Backward Classes (OBCs) for the term of one year beginning from the date of the 1st sitting of the committee.

SECRETARY-GENERAL: Sir, I have to report the following message received from the Secretary-General of Rajya Sabha.

'I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on Monday, the 28th March, 2022 adopted the following Motion in regard to the Committee on Welfare of Other Backward Classes (OBCs): -

"That this House resolves that the Rajya Sabha do join the Committee of both the Houses on Welfare of Other Backward Classes (OBCs) for the term of one year beginning from the date of the first sitting of the Committee, and proceed to elect, in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferrable vote, ten Members from amongst the Members of the House to serve on the said Committee."

2. I am further to inform the Lok Sabha that in pursuance of the above Motion, the following nine Members of the Rajya Sabha have been duly elected to the said Committee:

Dineshchandra Jemalbhai Anavadiya

Shrimati Geeta alias Chandraprabha

Shri Rajendra Gehlot

Shri Narayana Koragappa

Shri Jungalsinh Lokhandwala

Shri Vishambhar Prasad Nishad

Shri Subhas Chandra Bose Pilli

Shri Sakaldeep Rajbhar

Shri Haranath Singh Yadav

3. I am also directed to inform that in order to fill up the remaining one vacancy in the Committee, the election process is being initiated during the current session of Rajya Sabha itself.'