>

Title: Request the Central Government to release the remaining revenue deficit amounti to the state of Andhra Pradesh after the creation of new states.

SHRI LAVU SRIKRISHNA DEVARAYALU (NARASARAOPET):

Sir, in November, after meeting Shri Jagan Mohan Reddy garu, the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, the Vice-Chairman of NITI Aayog said, "CM's vision, planning, dedication and commitment for the development of the State impressed me a lot. Spending half of the Budget for human development is really laudable".

At the same time, the Vice-Chairman also expressed concern over the growing revenue deficit which stood at Rs. 11,654 crore in 2018-19 and also stated that the deficit may go up in the current fiscal and assured that the NITI Aayog would work with the State Government and help it in every way. To address this, the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh is doing everything in his power to attract investments, raise public borrowing and to push exports where Andhra Pradesh has a strong export presence. However, this alone will not suffice in the short-term and the deficit is not the product of the State Government's actions. It is a product of the unscientific bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh, the non-release of revenue deficit which was approved by the CAG. It has also been compounded by the fact that the Government has not granted the assured Special Category Status to the State. According to the CAG, the total revenue deficit of Andhra Pradesh is Rs. 22,984 crore. However, Government of India has released only Rs. 3,979 crore.

So, I request, through you, that the hon. Finance Minister to please release Rs. 18,000 crore.

माननीय अध्यक्ष: मैं सभी माननीय सदस्यों से पुन: आग्रह करना चाहता हूं कि आप अपने विषय को संक्षिप्त में बता दीजिए।

माननीय सदस्य, पहले आप अपनी पूरी बात खत्म कर लीजिए । क्या आपका विषय खत्म हो गया?

SHRI LAVU SRIKRISHNA DEVARAYALU: So, I request, through you, Sir, the hon. Finance Minister to review and release the remaining revenue deficit amounting to Rs. 18,969 crore to be paid to the State of Andhra Pradesh. Thank you very much.

माननीय अध्यक्ष: श्री दुष्यंत सिंह – उपस्थित नहीं।

श्री महेंद्र सिंह सोलंकी - उपस्थित नहीं।