7/9/22, 3:00 PM about:blank

Seventeenth Loksabha

>

Title: Need for additional JEE, NEET entrance centres in Odisha -laid

SHRI SAPTAGIRI SANKAR ULAKA (KORAPUT): National Testing Berhampur has selected seven places - Bhubaneswar, Cuttak, Balsore, Berhampur Rourkela and Sambalpur as entrance centres for JEE, NEET tests in Odisha. Approximately, 40,000 candidates appeared for JEE in these centres over 12 shifts, two shifts each day. Similarly, around 50,000 students appeared for the NEET.

For students of undivided Koraput District, predominantly tribal area, consisting of Koraput, Rayagada, Malkangiri and Nabarangpur - all aspirational districts, the centers are over 400-500 km away and it is difficult to travel with limited transportation available in the tribal areas. The financial condition of the students prevent them from booking private vehicles. Additionally, arranging accommodation is burden on poor tribal families.

I would urge upon the Ministry of Education to make Jeypore and Rayagada as JEE, NEET entrance centres.

about:blank 1/1