7/9/22, 2:36 PM about:blank

## Seventeenth Loksabha

an>

Title: Regarding inclusion of seven stations from Khurda division into South Coast Railway zone.

SHRI RAM MOHAN NAIDU KINJARAPU (SRIKAKULAM): Speaker Sir, thank you for giving the opportunity. I would like to raise an important issue regarding creation of a new railway zone for the State of Andhra Pradesh. In accordance with the AP Reorganization Act, passed by this Parliament in 2014, the Central Government had announced a new railway zone, namely South Coast Railway Zone, for the State of Andhra Pradesh, headquartered at Vishakhapatnam, on February 27, 2019. This announcement was made by the hon. Minister for Railways, Shri Piyush Goyal Ji himself. Since then, 18 months and three weeks have passed, but the new Zone has not come into operation. Even in the recent Budget, a total sum of Rs. 170 crore have been sanctioned under the head 'creation of new South Coast Railway Zone and new Rayagada Division', but still there is no clarity on when the operations are going to start. Also, there seems to be differences on where the boundaries of this Zone should be. I request to the Central Government that it covers the whole of Andhra Pradesh under this new Zone according to the AP Reorganization Act. ...(Interruptions)

I also oppose the closing down of Waltair Division. It is the most profitable division in the country. It also has a lot of historical and cultural importance. So, without any solid reasons, closing down of Waltair Divison is also unjust.

I would also like to say that seven railway stations, namely Palasa, Mandasa, Sunnadevi, Baruva, Sompeta, Jadupudi and Ichchapuram which come under Khurda Road Division, need to the included in the new South Coast Railway Zone. I would request the

about:blank 1/2

7/9/22, 2:36 PM about:blank

Central Government to start operations for this Railway Zone as soon as possible which has been a dream for the people of Andhra Pradesh, especially Uttar Andhra who have been fighting for this Zone since decades. So, I would request once again that it should be done as early as possible.

## माननीय अध्यक्ष :

श्री कुलदीप राय शर्मा एवं,

श्री सप्तगिरी उलाका को श्री राम मोहन नायडू किंजरापु द्वारा उठाए गए विषय के साथ संबद्ध करने की अनुमति प्रदान की जाती है ।

about:blank 2/2