Seventeenth Loksabha

>

Title: Secretary-General reported a message from Rajya Sabha that in furtherance of the motion adopted by the Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on the 5th March, 2020, for filling up of vacancies of seven members to the Committeeon Public Account and of which five members were duly elected and reported to the House on the 20th March, 2020, Rajya Sabha concurred in recommending to the Lok Sabha the election to remaining two vacancies of Rajya Sabha to the Committee on Public Accounts and the following members from Rajya Sabha have been duly elected.

SECRETARY-GENERAL: Sir, I have to report the following message received from the Secretary-General of Rajya Sabha:-

"I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on Thursday, the 5th March, 2020 adopted the following Motion in regard to the Committee on Public Accounts:-

"That this House concurs in the recommendation of the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha do agree to nominate seven Members from Rajya Sabha to associate with the Committee on Public Accounts of the Lok Sabha for the term beginning on the 1st May, 2020 and ending on the 30th April, 2021, and do proceed to elect, in such manner as the Chairman may direct, seven Members from amongst the Members of the House to serve on the said Committee."

2. I am further to inform the Lok Sabha that as a result of the election process initiated pursuant to the above Motion, five Members of Rajya Sabha were elected to the said Committee and their names were communicated to the Lok Sabha through

a Message dated the 20th March, 2020 from Rajya Sabha. The election process to fill up the remaining two vacancies in the Committee having been completed during the 253rd Session of Rajya Sabha, the following members of the Rajya Sabha have been duly elected to the said Committee:-

- 1. Shri Bhubaneswar Kalita
- 2. Shri Mallikarjun Kharge

17.03 ½ hrs