2831 Written Answers AGRAHAYANA 11, 1886 (SAKA) Written Answers 2832

Dispesal of Cases in Supreme Court

*314. Shri S. M. Banerjee: Will the Minister of Home Affairs be pleased to state:

(a) whether it is a fact that the number of cases in arrears in the Supreme Court has gone up to 2,170 as against 1,703 in 1962; and

(b) if so, whether Government propose to appoint more Judges in the Supreme Court to clear the arrears?

The Minister of State in the Ministry of Home Affairs (Shri Hathi): (a) and (b). The number of pending cases in the Supreme Court had increased from 1,703 at the end of 1962 to 2,170 at the end of 1963 but the number of old cases is not large. There is no proposal to appoint more Judges in the Supreme Court.

Prohibition

Shri Hem Raj: Shri D. C. Sharma: Shrimati Ramdulari Sinha: Shri Vishwa Nath Pandey: Shri Balkrishna Wasnik: Shri Jashvant Mehta: Shri Mansinh P. Patel:

Will the Minister of Home Affairs be pleased to refer to the reply given to Starred Question No. 480 on the 30th September, 1964 and state:

(a) the progress made in the consideration of the Prohibition Enquiry report; and

(b) whether Government have arrived at a final conclusion in the matter; and

(c) if so, a broad outline thereof?

The Minister of State in the Ministry of Home Affairs (Shri Hathi): (a) The report is still under consideration in consultation with the State Governments whose views are awaited.

(b) and (c). Do not raise at present.

Governors

Shri Surendranath Dwivedy: •316. Shri Daljit Singh:

Shri Chuni Lal:

Will the Minister of Home Affairs be pleased to state:

(a) the names of Governors who have been given extension of their term and names of those who have been transferred to other States before completion of their term since 1950; and

(b) the number and names of Governors who have to resign for joining active politics?

The Minister of Home Affairs (Shri Nanda): (a)---

(i) Names of Governors who have/ had been requested since 1950 to continue in office after the expiry of their normal term.

- 1. Shri Jairamdas Daulatram.
- 2. Shri H. V. Pataskar.
- 3. Shri Bishnuram Mehdi.
- 4. Shri Sri Prakasa.
- 5. H.H. Maharaja Shri Jaya Chamaraja Wadiyar Bahadur, Maharaja of Mysore.
- 6. Shri C. P. N. Singh.
- 7. Shri Gurmukh Nihal Singh.
- 8. Shri B. Rama Krishna Rao.
- 9. Shrimati Padmaja Naidu.
- (ii) Names of Governors who have been transferred to other States before completion of their term since 1950.
 - 1. General S. M. Shrinagesh.
 - 2. Shri B. Rama Krishna Rao.
 - 3. Shri V. V. Giri.
 - 4. Shri Sri Prakasa.
 - 5. Shri Bhimsen Sachar.
 - 6. Shri Pattom A. P. Thanu Pillai.

(b) Names of Governors who have resigned for joining politics since 1950.

- 1. Shri Sri Prakasa.
- 2. Dr K. N. Katju.