Moradabad on the Moradabad-Nijibabad section of the Northern Railway on the 10th April 1964;

- (b) if so, the details of the accident and its causes; and
- (c) the loss of life and property caused thereby?

The Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Railways (Shri Shahnawaz Khan): (a) Yes, Sir.

(b) At about 23.20 hours on 10-4-64, while 10 Down Doon Express was running between Bundki and Nagina stations on the Moradabad-Saharanpur double line section of Northern Railway, its engine and the following 7 bogies derailed at kilometre 1478[10. The last 5 bogies of the train remaind on the track.

The cause of the accident is under investigation by the Additional Commissioner of Railway Safety, Lucknow.

(c) There was no loss of life. The approximate cost of damage to rail-way property was Rs. 74,200|-.

High Altitude Agricultural Farms

*1223. Shri Shree Narayan Das: Shri Sidheshwar Prasad:

Will the Minister of Food and Agriculture be pleased to state:

- (a) whether any high altitude agricultural farms have been started in hilly and mountainous areas;
- (b) if so, the extent and nature of farms so far started;
- (c) whether the results so far achieved are available; and
 - (d) if so, the nature thereof?

The Minister of State in the Ministry of Food and Agriculture (Dr. Ram Subhag Singh): (a) to (d). The Government have at present information in respect of one high altitude farm at Leh. The information about such

farms in the States is being collected and will be placed on the Table of the Sabha.

Permission to Railway Employees to contest Elections to Local Authority

Shri D. C. Sharma: Shri Bhagwat Jha Azad: Shri Solanki: Shri Alvares: Shri Nambiar: Shri Surendranath Dwivedy Shri S. M. Banerjee: Shri Y. N. Singha: Shri Indulal Yajnik: Shri Kishen Pattnayak: Shri Hem Barua: Shri Ram Sewak Yadav: Shri Krishnapal Singh: Shrimati Basant Kunwari: Shri Hukam Chand Kachhavaiya:

*1224, 4

Shri Bade: Dr. Ram Manohar Lohia: Dr. L. M. Singhvi: Shri P. K. Ghosh: Shri Buta Singh: Shri P. R. Patel: Shri Yogendra Jha: Dr. M. S. Aney: Shri Kashi Ram Gupta: Shri Onkar Lal Berwa: Shri Koya: Shri Yashpal Singh: Shrimati Shashank Manjri: Shri Vishram Prasad: Shri Man Sing P. Patel: Shri Sham Lal Saraf: Shrimati Ganga Devi: Shri Prabhat Kar: Shri Krishna Deo Tripathi: Shri Mohan Swarup: Shri R. Barua: Shri Prithvi Raj:

Will the Minister of Railways be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Railway employees have at any time been permitted to contest elections to a local authority or hold seats therein;
- (b) if so, the rules or instructions under which they could do so and

whether prior sanction of the competent authority was necessary for doing so;

Written Answers

- (c) if not, the rules or instructions issued by the Railway Board under which they were forbidden to do so; and
- (d) whether the prohibitory rule or instruction₃ issued by the Railway Board were in force in 1957?

The Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Railways (Shri S. V. Ramaswamy): (a) Information is being collected and will be laid on the table of the Sabha.

- (b) and (c). Under Rule 4(4) and proviso (iii) thereunder of the Railway Services (Conduct) Rules, 1956, and the earlier corresponding rule 23(4) of the old Conduct Rules as clarified under administrative instructions issued under Railway Board's letter No. E53GSI—1 dated 9-4-53, a Railway servant could take part in an election to a local body only with the prior approval of the competent authority.
- (d) No; the discretionary power of the competent authority to permit a Railway servant to offer himself as a candidate for election to a local authority under proviso (iii) to Rule 4(4) of the Conduct Rules was withdrawn on 16-6-1960.

Trade Unions

*1225. Shri Yashpal Singh: Shri Buta Singh:

Will the Minister of Railways be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of Trade Unions recognized by his Ministry in each Railway Zone in India;
- (b) their names and strength as on 1st April, 1963;
- (c) the names of the Trade Unions formed on the Railways which are not yet recognized by the Ministry; and

(d) the broad principles on the basis of which recognition is granted by the Ministry?

The Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Railways (Shri Shahnawas Khan): (a) and (b). The recognition of Unions in Zonal Railways is given by the General Managers concerned. A statement showing the number of Trade Unions recognised, their names and their strength as on 1st April, 1963 has been placed on the Table of the House.

- (c) Government have no definite information. A statement showing names of some of the Unions that have come to notice has also been placed on the Table of the House. [Placed in Library, See No. LT-2791/64].
- (d) Broadly, the following are some of the more important conditions subject to which the General Managers of Zonal Railways may grant recognition to a Union:
 - it must consist of a distinct class of railway employees and must not be formed on the basis of any caste, tribe or religious denomination or of any group within or section of such caste, tribe or religious denomination;
 - (ii) all railway employees of the same class must be eligible for membership;
 - (iii) it must be registered under the Indian Trade Unions Act:
 - (iv) its membership should not be less than 15 per cent of the total number of non-gazetted staff employed on the Railway concerned;
 - (v) it should not be sectional. Unions composed either of one category or a limited category of workers should not be recognised; and
 - (vi) it should not be, in the opinion of the Railway Administration, likely to