VOL, XVIII. First day of the Sixth Session of Seventh Lok Sabha No. 1

I

LOK SABHA

Monday, August 17, 1981/Sravana 26, 1903 (Saka)

The Lok Sabha met dt Eleven of the Clock

(MR. SPEAKER in the Chair)

MEMBERS SWORN

Shrimati Jayanti Patnaik (Cuttack).

Begum Abida Ahmed (Bareilly).

Shri Rajiv Gandhi (Amethi).

Shri Uma Kant (Mirzapur).

Shri Krishna Prakash Tewari (Allahabad).

Shri Ajit Bag (Serampore).

OBITUARY REFERENCES

SHRI JYOTIRMOY BOSU: Sir, I am on a point of order under Rule 376, sub-rule 2, about the obituary reference.

MR. SPEAKER: Please take your seat. I am coming to that. You won't -- find me wanting.

Honourable Members, as we meet today after an interval of more than three months, it is my sad duty to unform the House of the passing away of six of our former Members, namely. Shrimati G. Durgabai Deshmukh, Sarvashri D.D. Malaviya, T.A. Pai, Shrichar Vaman Naik, S. K. Patil and Nageshwar Prasad Sinha, and one of our former Honourable Member in the Rajya Sabha, an old sitting Member, Shri Bhupesh Gupta.

2

Shrimati G. Durgabai Deshmukh was a Member of the Constituent Assembly and Provisional Parliament during 1946—52. A freedom fighter, she participated in freedom struggle and suffered imprisonment. An eminent social worker, she was a champion of the cause of women in India throughout her life.

In 1952, she became member of the Planning Commission in charge of sowelfare. As Chairman of the cial Central Social Welfare Board, she promoted the establishment of social welfare centres and rural welfare centres. She was recipient of a gold medal in 1946 in recognition of her services for promoting Hindi. In 1971, she was given the Nehru Literary Award in appreciation of her work for eradication of illiteracy. She was honoured with the Padmabhushan Award in 1975, the International Women's Year. She passed away at Hyderabad on 9th May, 1981 at the age of 72 years.

Shri K. D. Malaviya was a Member of the First, Second, Third and Fifth Lok Sabha during 1952-67 and 1971-77. Earlier, he was a Member of U.P. Legislative Assembly during 1946-51. He worked as Parliamentary Secretary, U.P. Government in 1946 and was appointed a Minister in U.P. Government in 1947.

At the Centre, he was appointed Deputy Minister of Natural Resources and Scientific Research in 1952. He became a Cabinet Minister in 1957 in which capacity he served till 1963 and